top of page

Cleaning Secondhand Leather Naturally

I was having an easy day at home (Craigslisting free stuff) when I came upon a really nice leather chair with an ottoman. I'm pretty street-savvy so I'm very skeptical at first, but it was being given away in a pretty ritzy area and the chair didn't show any off-putting dirty or scruffiness, so it looked pretty nice. I had been in the market for a new seating option, but with no luck. My head petitioned Houzz, but my wallet pleaded cheaper..

I had looked online for natural ways to clean leather, especially lighter colours. I ended up mixing two of the best recipes:

equal parts avocado oil and white distilled vinegar (I used 2/3 cup)

10 drops lemon essential oil (I use doTERRA, but I figure any brand would do if it's steam distilled)

As you can see, the darker coloration came off very easily. I'm pointing to the part that I had scrubbed. I used a standard yellow/green kitchen sponge with the cleaner, and it worked like a charm! I had very good success. Although, be careful when scrubbing, as you can take off some of the leather material if you scrub too hard... oops!

Before (Above) and After (Below)

Here's a before and after of the leather. Definitely better looking in the after! The avocado oil even helped a bit with the leather's wrinkling.

I had gotten the avocado oil from Costco, they have a large container for around $10, and the white vinegar most likely also from Costco. Mixing in the oil really added on a few years to the leather. I think that was the factor that had smoothed out the wrinkles.

The essential oil really added a fresh smell to the chair, which I liked. It actually was in pretty good shape when I had gotten it, but anything you get online should be cleaned well.

Good luck!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page